Home Menu
  • Rebecca Salvadori: ‘The Sun Has No Shadow’ (2022) & ‘TRESOR Tapes’ (2022)

Saturday 27 April
The Cube, 15:30 — 17:00
Book tickets

‘The Sun Has No Shadow’ (2022) is an intimate visual journey across a series of raves, clubs and experimental live performances; a personal film manifesto as well as a tribute to London. The fragmentation of the visual experience, practices of self-observation and the tradition of portraiture are some of the reflections surrounding Salvadori’s filmic research.

While ‘The Sun Has No Shadow’ unfolds as a consistent narrative intentionally developed by the artist, based on her individual memories and experiences, ‘TRESOR Tapes’ emerges as a multifaceted narrative from the collective memories and experiences of a whole community. It was commissioned by the famous Berlin nightclub for the show ‘TRESOR 31 Techno, Berlin und die große Freiheit’ at Kraftwerk, Berlin. In it, the artist functions as a vector ordering diverse cinematic elements taken from TRESOR’s archives, to which multiple filmmakers have contributed with their visual documents. Presented together, the two films approach different ways of dealing with personal & collective archives and memory as well as reflections around club documentation.

Followed by a conversation between Rebecca Salvadori and Jennifer Lucy Allan.

To book a £10 combi ticket (£8 concession) for 3 Saturday afternoon events at The Cube, click here.

Rebecca Salvadori

Rebecca Salvadori is a London based artist working at the intersection between video art and documentary. Her film works act as constellations of highly personal and wilfully elusive heterogeneous elements: multifaceted portraits of moments, people and environments, moving between personal and transpersonal scales. Over the last 15 years she has consistently engaged with experimental music, exploring ways to connect the moving image with sound practices, live performance and alternative forms of storytelling. More

Jennifer Lucy Allan

Jennifer Lucy Allan is an author, journalist and broadcaster, who has written on underground and experimental music for over 15 years. Her first book, The Foghorn’s Lament, was published in 2021. More